Thursday, August 19, 2010

Am I a Freak?

Going to the doctor is always fun.  They always ask such awesome questions.  I don't know if boys also get asked, but my favorite question was: Are you sexually active?

Now I realize that this is an odd thing to blog about but it really struck me today.  When I told the doctor no, she said okay and then went on to talking about something else.  The conversation ended up looping back to that topic and I told her that I wouldn't be participating in that activity for quite some time.  She then said that that was good, that I should wait until I found the right person, to which I said "I'll have to marry the right person first."  I don't think she hears that very often because she kind of laughed and said "That's good, but that's hard."

It kind of made me a little sad that even a doctor was so willing to just give up and say "oh, it's hard to stay abstinent so good luck with that."  It's only hard because people make it hard.  I don't sit around thinking about how difficult it is to resist my hormones and go do the nasty.  I know I'm not going to do it so there's nothing to worry about.  There's nothing to question or struggle with.

Girls all around are getting pregnant and complaining about how hard life is and that they're getting kicked out of their homes and can't do what they want because they've got a kid to take care of.  Well, don't have sex.  If you're not putting yourself in the position to get pregnant, you're not going to get pregnant.  Teens are trying too hard to be adults and they think that having sex makes them grown up and mature.  It doesn't.  We're too young for that kind of commitment.  There's no need for doing any of that stuff.  It's ridiculous.

But it still goes back to adults letting kids think it's not that big of a deal if they've had sex.  It's the adults that tell teens that "it's hard to not have sex."  

You know what though?  It is a big deal.  And it isn't hard to be abstinent. I know lots of kids who have and are overcoming this "struggle."  They're just fine.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Amen sistaaaaa! :)